Rebecca Currently


It’s time again for that seasonal post on what I am currently doing with my life. It’s so strange for me to reflect on the months that have slipped by since graduation in December. Most college graduates quickly adapt to the “real world,” yet here I am with another temporary position at Los Alamos National Laboratory.

Does that make it sound like I’m not doing anything important? Allow me to defend myself.

The newly re-branded Feynman Center for Innovation is an amazing, supportive group of people. Last summer, they allowed me extensive freedom to design the annual report. This fall, I am in charge of the production and design of the publication, among other assignments. I really value this opportunity to take ownership of a project of this caliber. I guarantee this will be a portfolio item.

Speaking of portfolio items, I have again updated my online portfolio. There is now a broad range of pieces from each of my internships, including Southwest Airlines. In addition, that graphic resume I promised back in April is finally completed. Unfortunately, I STILL don’t have a new computer, since I spent my laptop money in Ecuador, but I managed to throw this together. If you have any ideas for improvements, please let me know!

Graphic ResumeIn my free time, I am taking tango classes, exploring the New Mexico outdoors (it never gets old), and training for a half marathon in order to raise money for UBECI, the program I worked with in Ecuador. For more information, or to donate, click here. I’m also back to applying for jobs. Since I have a comfortable position here at LANL, I am taking my job search very seriously, and only applying for positions I’m very confident about. I hope to find a full-time position by October.

That’s all for now. I hope to start writing more about current PR events in addition to my adventures here. I know it’s not as exciting as Ecuador, but I’ll do my best to keep things interesting. đŸ˜€

Rebecca Martineau

Share your thoughs...

