The Last Journey: Portland


A few weeks ago, my roommates and I realized that we STILL hadn’t taken a trip together. A previous attempt at Vegas had fallen through, and the rest of the time our trips just didn’t match up. Erin and I even flew to Chicago together, only to do our separate thing once we reached the city. We decided that Easter weekend, our only 3-day weekend, would be a roommate trip to Portland, Oregon.

My mom has been encouraging me to visit Portland for a while now, but it’s not really the easiest city to non-rev to. Luckily the extra day, and my connections in Albuquerque, landed us on an early flight Friday morning. We landed in Oregon around 10 a.m.

Here’s the thing about growing up in New Mexico, the gorgeous desert state instilled me with a strong love for two very “Portland” things, mountains and rain. First of all, you can’t leave the mountains if you grew up in them. I firmly believe that my soul belongs on the ridges of rocky peaks, overlooking the vast earth around me. Second of all, living in a state of continuous drought has turned rain into something to celebrate.

The effects from rain in Portland were apparent before we even hit the ground. I kept peering over Erin excitedly at the greenery around us as we landed.

“This is everything I wanted Portland to be,” I joked.

Portland2
Erin, Tana, and I walking to the bus stop. 

We used Airbnb to find a modest place to stay about an hour away from the airport (using public transportation) and dropped off our stuff before venturing downtown. Portland has an interesting way of convincing you that it isn’t a city, until you get into the heart of it. Then your suddenly surrounded by tall buildings and… food trucks. So many food trucks.

Both full days we spent in Portland were dedicated to walking around the city, wherever our footsteps took us. We visited multiple well-known places, including Voodoo Doughnuts, Powell’s City of Books (easily spent $50, oops), and the Japanese Gardens. We walked into numerous boutiques, coffee shops, thrift stores, and even a winery. We even enjoyed some wonderful unique food, such as Georgian (the country, not the state) and Colombian.

Portland1
The Japanese Gardens are definitely a “must see” in Portland.

Unfortunately, we didn’t get to see the famous waterfalls, or Oregon’s coast, but I’m already sold on the state. I’m pretty convinced that I belong in Portland. The city seems to understand my love for coffee, cats, and trees.

In all seriousness, I had a wonderful time. I was pulled off the plane on the flight back, but we still managed to make it back to Dallas on Sunday night. My only regret is that my body chose this trip to catch the flu, and I kept wanting to sleep around 8 p.m. 😦 I guess I’ll have to go back another time if I want to check out the nightlife.

-Rebecca Martineau

One thought on “The Last Journey: Portland

  1. Pingback: A Semester with Southwest | Pursuing PR

Share your thoughs...

