My Austin Adventure


Do you remember earlier I mentioned that traveling standby was a bit stressful? Friday night my travel companions and I calmly determined that making our flight to San Diego would be a small miracle, and that waiting for the early morning flight would be the more logical decision. A couple bottles of wine later, we woke up at 5 a.m. Saturday morning with no desire to fight for one of the few remaining seats on the 8 a.m. flight. C’est la vie. Priorities I guess.

I can’t say I was disappointed. The decision to sleep in was truly rewarding, and we awoke a few hours later and met at a fabulous breakfast place near my apartment. (Cafe Brazil. If you are ever in Dallas this restaurant is amazing!) After spending a few hours chatting and relaxing, Lexie and I decided that we didn’t want to waste our entire weekend, and hopped on a short flight to Austin, where a friend from her college, Dan, is currently living.

As soon as we drove through downtown Austin, we both realized that we were going to fall in love with the city. The energy that thrives there feels young and fearless, and Austin seems to combine some of the wonderful qualities from my favorite places. In many ways it seems to be a college town, with UT students wandering 6th street after dark, drinking and dancing away the night. There’s a strong live music scene, similar to what I loved about Nashville, but with more variety. Jazz, rock, and country spill into the streets from different bars. Best of all, Austin is a city of dreamers, with the artistic passion that I miss so much from Albuquerque. Granted, there are no mountains, but I was enamored.

Image

Lexie’s college friend was extremely welcoming, he met us downtown and helped us navigate the public bus system around the city. I was amazed at the house he lived in, decorated with countless paintings, drawings, and writings. I feel like these types of people, the dreamers, speak to a part of my soul that is often ignored in the chaos of the “american dream.” It reinforced my desire to stay connected with my artistic side, even when fighting for a position in the corporate world.

1497440_10152256144742082_987842168_n 1902962_10152256145687082_619580385_n

After a night out on 6th street, we spent Sunday walking along a nature trail on the outskirts of the city. I feel like nature and I have been apart for too long. We splashed around in a natural spring for a while until it was time to hurry back through town and catch our plane home.

1618543_10152256145682082_161292720_n

We already want to go back, and I’ve officially added Austin to my list of possible locations to look for jobs. Overall, it was a beautiful weekend. I’m sure I will make it to San Diego another time.

Until the next adventure,
Rebecca

One thought on “My Austin Adventure

  1. Pingback: A Semester with Southwest | Pursuing PR

Share your thoughs...

