Internship Evaluation


It’s been a few weeks since the conclusion of my summer internship and I wanted to go ahead and share some of the pro’s and con’s of the experience. 

In summary, I spent two months working for the Technology Transfer division of Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL). LANL is a DOE funded laboratory, famous for manufacturing the atomic bomb. Since the bomb, LANL has continued to focus on advancing global security, with everything from alternative energy to breast cancer research. Today, once was once a secret community is now a quirky collection of scientists and outdoorsmen. 

I was fortunate enough to end up in this position the summer after my freshman year in college. At this point, public relations was just an idea that I was experimenting with, the work that I did with this organization solidified my decision to pick PR as a major. I returned without hesitation the second summer, but this year I did apply a few other places. The biggest decision factor in returning for a third summer is that I knew without a doubt that I would be given full responsibility of multiple projects. Instead of feeling like an intern, with LANL I feel like I am part of the family. 

My only complaint with the work I did this summer is that there was not as much writing as I had hoped. Most of my division comes to me for design support, which is awesome, but I feel like writing will be more important when I begin to apply for jobs. Still, I had another great summer with LANL and would highly recommend it to anyone interested in working within a technical industry. 

-Rebecca

2 thoughts on “Internship Evaluation

Share your thoughs...

