Internship Searching


(If job searching with a newspaper looks stressful… try the internet.)

After getting back from the PRSSA conference I have been thrust into a world of internship applications and deadline planning.  I’m definitely starting to realize how fortunate I was to have connections when applying for my last internship.  I do wish I could just slip right back into the LANL family, but I know that I won’t be able to get the diverse experience that I sincerely want.

Since I do have the option to keep my current employment over the summer, I have been “pulling out the big guns” and applying at all of my dream locations.  It started with Southwest and Google, then a few agencies and now I’m just looking up all of my favorite cities and their tourism departments. For some reason, I feel like I have nothing to lose.

I love that with Public Relations I can literally think of any company in the world and apply there.

(If anyone in Montezuma, Costa Rica is looking to hire an adventurous PR girl, please call me! I would love to stay here forever.)

Anyways…

Just remember to be fearless during your job/internship searches. Apply everywhere, because you have nothing to lose. Don’t be restricted by job titles or location. Being flexible is a necessity in PR. Think of your childhood favorites (Disney?), your guilty pleasures (Starbucks?) and your comfort brands (Mac/Apple?).  They won’t know who you are if you don’t get in their face and be persistent.

Even at the conference Andrew Freeman stressed that persistence, confidence and just being aggressive are vital traits when job hunting.

-Rebecca Martineau

Share your thoughs...

